You can easily share your screen (or an application within the screen) with people on your call. For Google Chrome users, you need to go through one extra step (no sweat, you don't even need to restart your browser).

If you use Internet Explorer or Firefox, you can skip down to Step 3.

Step 1: Is Screen Sharing enabled?

When you join a session, you should should see the gray menu dots on the upper right corner of your screen. Click on the "Share screen" menu item, and you'll be prompted to install our plugin in order to enable screen sharing with Google Chrome. 

Step 2: Install the Plugin

Remember, this is only for Google Chrome users. Firefox and Internet Explorer users can share their screens by default. 

You should see the following popup message from Google Chrome:

Click on "Add Extension" in order to enable screen sharing.

Step 3: Start the Screen Share Process

You should now be able to share your screen. Click the button in the menu to begin sharing your screen with the others on this call.

Step 4: Choose an Application Window or Share your Whole Screen

You'll have the option to share your entire screen, or you may select a specific window on your computer to share with your callers. 

Once you choose what to share and begin sharing, your callers will see the part of your screen you choose to share, and they will also see your mouse pointer moving around the screen. 

You'll know you're sharing your screen because a second box with your name in it will have shown up. This one will have a picture of what you're sharing as well as an icon denoting that it is a screen share:

Step 5: Pause or End Screen Sharing

Clicking on the menu dots in the new box will let you either "Disable Video" or "End Screenshare". You can disable the video to pause your screen share. This is a quick way to hide your screen while you type something private or if you want to shift topics without the screen-share distracting your participants. 

Once you are finished, you should turn off screen sharing by clicking "End Screenshare" so that you are not accidentally continuing to broadcast your desktop. In order to turn off sharing.

Happy sharing!

Did this answer your question?